

## **Ministry of National Security**

Government of the republic of Trinidad and Tobago

August 11, 2023

For Immediate Release

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

## MINISTRY OF NATIONAL SECURITY COMMENDS NATIONAL SECURITY OFFICERS FOR SERVICE IN 2022

**Port of Spain**: At an official ceremony held on Friday August 11, 2023, twelve (12) officers attached to the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service's Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF), the Port of Spain Divisional Task Force and the Transit Police Unit, received commendations from the Minister of National Security, the Honourable Fitzgerald Hinds M.P; in recognition of their unswerving commitment to duty, outstanding work, meritorious service and exceptional leadership capabilities over the year 2022.

This commendation ceremony is the third of its kind since Minister Hinds was appointed to the helm of the Ministry of National Security and follows a promise made by the Honourable Minister to show in a more tangible way the Ministry's and the country's appreciation for the dedication and commitment of these officers who have served with honour and have gone beyond the call of duty.

The ceremony took place at the Ministry of National Security, 31-33 Abercromby Street, Port of Spain and was attended by Permanent Secretary, Mr. Gary Joseph, Ministry of National Security; Chief of Defence Staff, Air Vice Marshal Darryl Daniel, Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force; Commissioner of Police, Ms Erla Harewood-Christopher, Trinidad and Tobago Police Service.

During his official address, Minister Hinds took the opportunity to thank the Officers on behalf of the citizens of Trinidad and Tobago, and the Ministry of National Security for their selfless dedication to duty, for their deportment, decorum, and for their professionalism, as this country continues to contend with and manage the challenging crime situation and criminal behaviour from all quarters.

Minister Hinds said, "our law enforcement officers supported by the Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force, has not for the first time been called upon to come to the fore, to stand in the gap between the criminals, the reckless and bullies of society, who seek to do harm to their fellow citizens and those of us who want to carry out our business in society in peace and harmony."

Minister Hinds continued by saying, "It is to you, that the people of this country depend on for protection, the police officers and soldiers, who members of our society turn to for assistance, those who provide yeoman service in battling the behaviour displayed by criminals in our communities, in our highways and our byways."

The Minister ended by once again expressing his appreciation to all the members of the Defence and Protective Services for all their hard work done in 2022 and for their ongoing commitment, to keeping Trinidad and Tobago and its citizens safe and secure.

Officers who received commendations were as follows: Acting Assistant Commissioner of Police, Mr. Oswain Subero; Assistant Superintendent of Police, Mr. Dhanrajh Ramesar; Police Corporal Mr. Allister Williams; Police Corporal Mr. Desley Adams; Police Corporal Mr. Kwasi Nedd; Police Constable Mr. Hayden Dookhie; Police Constable Mr. David Joseph; Police Constable Mr. Cherval Gervais; Police Constable Mr. Joseph Gill; Women Police Constable Ms. Kizzy Mudie; Staff Sergeant Mr. Kevaughn Jones and Lance Corporal Mr. Zebulun O'Brien.

## **PHOTOS AND CAPTIONS:**



(Seated From Left to Right): Director, Office of Law Enforcement Policy, Ministry of National Security, Ms. Gale Charles; Chief of Defence Staff, Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force, Air Vice Marshal Darryl Daniel; Permanent Secretary, Ministry of National Security, Mr. Gary Joseph; Minister of National Security, the Honourable Fitzgerald Hinds M.P; Commissioner of Police, Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, Ms. Erla Harewood-Christopher; Senior Superintendent of Police, Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, Mr. Roger Alexander and Acting Commanding Officer, Trinidad and Tobago Regiment, Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force, Lt. Colonel Dwayne Edwards, flanked in the back row by awardees, during an official commendation ceremony for National Security Officers that took place on Friday August 11, 2023, at the Ministry of National Security, 31-33 Abercromby Street, Port of Spain.

**END**